Bible Translation in worship

Following our initial look at translations in Bible class last summer, we had narrowed down the choices to God’s Word (GW) and HCSB (Holman Christian Standard Bible).

Early in the fall we alternated about every three weeks. But that was too short of a time period to evaluate the oral excellence of a translation. So we extended the time of use for each. We used God’s Word (GW) translation in worship for the past 3+ months.

This Sunday, we will begin using the HCSB (Holman Christian Standard Bible) for our Sunday readings. The plan is to continue using HCSB through Easter.

About exegete77

disciple of Jesus Christ, husband, father, grandfather, great-grandfather, teacher, and theologian
This entry was posted in Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bible Translation in worship

  1. lyndalyce says:

    I think I am getting the “feel” of GW and HCSB but must confess I am still more comfortable with ESV. Having said that there was a time when RSV was my “side-kick” until I switched to NJK and then of course that became “teacher’s pet”. It takes a while to read a short devotion when using more than one translation but I am getting more from my reading when I use all three (GW, HCSB & ESV) . Thanks

  2. exegete77 says:

    Thanks for your comment, Lynda. I think long term church members and Bible users would express the same thought: RSV, NKJ, ESV have a familiar ring to it.

    For oral comprehension, GW is best. But as we move into the New Testament, GW falls down, using “God’s approval” rather than “righteousness.” HCSB is more conventional in that way. We will see how the oral quality holds up.

Comments are closed.