Who is this God?

It often seems that people want a God who is approachable, accepting, even non-judgmental. I can sometimes relate to that. There are enough “bullies” in life that perhaps we think that unless God is described this way, God is a just another bully. In the process we make God into our image, or at least what we want God to be like.

As we explore the Bible, though, we discover that the God of the Bible is multi-dimensional, greater in character than we can even imagine. Thus, we cannot limit God to our scattered impressions. To do so is to miss the true God.

This coming Sunday we will focus on Isaiah’s encounter with the true God. Here we get glimpses into this God we worship. God meets Isaiah, and the results are terrifying, but also cleansing, and moving—in concert with God himself.

Isaiah 6:1-8 (GW)

The Prophet Isaiah

The Prophet Isaiah

1 In the year King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord sitting on a high and lofty throne. The bottom of his robe filled the temple. 2 Angels were standing above him. Each had six wings: With two they covered their faces, with two they covered their feet, and with two they flew. 3 They called to each other and said,

“Holy, holy, holy is the LORD of Armies!
The whole earth is filled with his glory.”

4 Their voices shook the foundations of the doorposts, and the temple filled with smoke.

5 So I said, “Oh, no!

I’m doomed.
Every word that passes through my lips is sinful.
I live among people with sinful lips.
I have seen the king, the LORD of Armies!”

6 Then one of the angels flew to me. In his hand was a burning coal that he had taken from the altar with tongs. 7 He touched my mouth with it and said, “This has touched your lips. Your guilt has been taken away, and your sin has been forgiven.”

8 Then I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, “Whom will I send? Who will go for us?”

 I said, “Here I am. Send me!”

Come this Sunday to learn more about this God. And then to worship him with heart, mind, body, and soul.

Prayer for the Day:

Almighty God, our Father, the prophet Isaiah saw Your holiness, for You dwell in majesty and mystery. As You cleansed him from doubt and fear, move us to receive Your cleansing grace from Jesus, our Savior. Then send us forth by Your Spirit to carry Your Good News to a world that needs your Son, who lives and rules with You and the Holy Spirit, one God now and forever. Amen

About exegete77

disciple of Jesus Christ, husband, father, grandfather, great-grandfather, teacher, and theologian
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Old Testament, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.