Genealogies—stumbling blocks or insights

Our first week in the Old Testament Survey. I was pleasantly surprised: everyone answered (most of) the questions. Here are a couple summary tables to help us appreciate what Genesis teaches us.

The Fulfillment of the Scriptures

All of the promises of God are in Christ Jesus. Unless we keep this in mind we not only misread the Old Testament, we miss God’s greatest design in his Son.

[Jesus said:]  You pore over the Scriptures because you think you have eternal life in them, yet they testify about Me. (John 5:39 HCSB)

Then beginning with Moses and all the Prophets, He interpreted for them the things concerning Himself in all the Scriptures. (Luke 24:27 HCSB)

Then He told them, “These are My words that I spoke to you while I was still with you—that everything written about Me in the Law of Moses, the Prophets, and the Psalms must be fulfilled.” Then He opened their minds to understand the Scriptures. (Luke 24:44-45 HCSB)

For every one of God’s promises is “Yes” in Him. Therefore, the “Amen” is also spoken through Him by us for God’s glory. (2 Corinthians 1:20 HCSB)

The Genealogies of Genesis

Some find the genealogies in Genesis to be boring at best and distracting and a hindrance to the “story.” But when we see that the genealogies actually trace the narrowing promise of God pointing to God sending his Son, we gain new perspective on God’s perfect plan of salvation. Notice that there are ten genealogies in Genesis, and the rest of the Old Testament fills out the story of that tenth one (Jacob).

Even more significantly, the last genealogy in the Bible is Matthew 1:1-17, the genealogy of Jesus. He fulfills the Old Testament and so all who are related to him by faith are in the eternal genealogy.

Genealogy in Genesis (and the New Testament)

Let us rejoice in God’s perfect preparation for the sending of His Son, the perfect solution to sin (plus guilt and shame), death, and the devil.

Sin

My dear children, I’m writing this to you so that you will not sin. Yet, if anyone does sin, we have Jesus Christ, who has God’s full approval. He speaks on our behalf when we come into the presence of the Father. He is the payment for our sins, and not only for our sins, but also for the sins of the whole world. (1 John 2:1-2 GW)

Guilt

Have pity on me, O God, in keeping with your mercy. In keeping with your unlimited compassion, wipe out my rebellious acts. Wash me thoroughly from my guilt, and cleanse me from my sin. (Psalm 51:1-2 GW)

Shame

 That is why Scripture says, “I am laying a chosen and precious cornerstone in Zion, and the person who believes in him will never be ashamed.”(1 Peter 2:6 GW)

Death

Death has been swallowed up in victory.
Death, where is your victory?
Death, where is your sting? (1 Corinthians 15:54-55 HCSB)

Devil

Since all of these sons and daughters have flesh and blood, Jesus took on flesh and blood to be like them. He did this so that by dying he would destroy the one who had power over death (that is, the devil). (Hebrews 2:14 GW)

The Son of God was revealed for this purpose: to destroy the Devil’s works. (1 John 3:8 HCSB)

And finally

What a miserable person I am! Who will rescue me from my dying body? I thank God that our Lord Jesus Christ rescues me! (Romans 7:24-25 GW)

 

 

About exegete77

disciple of Jesus Christ, husband, father, grandfather, great-grandfather, teacher, and theologian
This entry was posted in Bible Study. Bookmark the permalink.