How much help does God need?

While that might seem to be a frivolous question, it is really much deeper and more profound that we might suspect.

If we are honest for a moment, we begin to think that we can make the right decisions, do the right things, meet the right people, marry the right person, raise the kids in the right way… and everything will be right.

Okay, now that we have a dose of reality, let’s step back and ponder the question again. How much help does God need? Let’s extend it: How much help does God need from me? Well, at least God needs my gifts, my heart, my willingness, my love, my witness… So, God is insufficient if I’m not around

Abram believed God’s promise

BTW, we are not the only ones with this problem. Read Genesis 15:1-6 (HCSB).

1 After these events, the word of the LORD came to Abram in a vision: Do not be afraid, Abram. I am your shield; your reward will be very great.

2 But Abram said, “Lord GOD, what can You give me, since I am childless and the heir of my house is Eliezer of Damascus?” 3 Abram continued, “Look, You have given me no offspring, so a slave born ina my house will be my heir.”

4 Now the word of the LORD came to him: “This one will not be your heir; instead, one who comes from your own body will be your heir.” 5 He took him outside and said, “Look at the sky and count the stars, if you are able to count them.” Then He said to him, “Your offspring will be that numerous.”

6 Abram believed the LORD, and He credited it to him as righteousness.

Even the great patriarch, Abram thought God needed help. But that changed, and through Abram (later renamed Abraham) God changed the world. God gave promises that Abram could never manage on his own, or even dream about. When Abram understood he couldn’t help God, then God could use Abram for God’s purposes.

Last Sunday we covered creation and Fall in the sermon (Genesis 2:4-7, 15-17; 3:1-8).

This Sunday we take our second step through the Old Testament: Genesis 15:1-6.

About exegete77

disciple of Jesus Christ, husband, father, grandfather, great-grandfather, teacher, and theologian
This entry was posted in Bible Study. Bookmark the permalink.