Sing to the LORD a new song Psalm 96:1-2

Today we gathered as the people of God to celebrate the victory that Gayle Diani has in Jesus Christ. She died in the faith on May 7, 2012. Today we celebrated with Scripture, Song, and Prayer. While the death sentence, “the wages of sin is death” (Romans 6:23a), extends to all, God also promised a Savior in Genesis 3; he would conquer Satan, sin, and death. Jesus is that Savior, fulfilling all for us, positively keeping the Law and negatively by dying for us the abandonment we deserved.

Thus, the old sentence of death is replaced the new declaration of life in Jesus Christ. Nothing can separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus (Romans 8:37-39).

Thus we sing a new song, even in a captive land.

Hymn: “Beautiful Savior”

Beautiful Savior, King of creation,  Son of God, and Son of Man,
Truly I’d love Thee, Truly I’d serve Thee, Light of my soul, my joy, my crown.

Fair are the meadows, Fair are the woodlands, Robed in flow’rs of blooming spring
Jesus is fairer, Jesus is purer,  He makes our sorr’wing spirit sing

Beautiful Savior, Lord of the nations, Son of God and Son of Man
Glory and Honor, Praise, adoration Now and forevermore be Thine

Invocation

P: In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.
C: Amen
P: In Holy Baptism Gayle Diani was clothed with the robe of Christ’s righteousness that covered all her sin. St. Paul writes: “Do you not know that all of us who have been baptized into Christ were baptized into His death?”
C: We were buried therefore with Him by baptism into death, in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, we too might walk in newness of life. For if we have been united with Him in a death like His, we shall certainly be united with Him in a resurrection like His. (Romans 6:3–5)

Psalm 95:1–7

Hymn: “The Old Rugged Cross”

On a hill far away stood an old rugged cross, The emblem of suff’ring and shame;
And I love that old cross where the dearest and best
For a world of lost sinners was slain.

Refrain: So I’ll cherish the old rugged cross,
Till my trophies at last I lay down;
I will cling to the old rugged cross,
And exchange it some day for a crown.

Oh, that old rugged cross, so despised by the world,
Has a wondrous attraction for me;
For the dear Lamb of God left His glory above
To bear it to dark Calvary. Refrain

In that old rugged cross, stained with blood so divine,
A wondrous beauty I see,
For ’twas on that old cross Jesus suffered and died,
To pardon and sanctify me. Refrain

To the old rugged cross I will ever be true;
Its shame and reproach gladly bear;
Then He’ll call me some day to my home far away,
Where His glory forever I’ll share. Refrain

Prayer

P: The Lord be with you.
C: And also with you.
P: O God of grace… through Jesus Christ, your Son, our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God now and forever.
C: Amen.

Old Testament: Isaiah 53

Epistle: Romans 8:31-39

Special Music: “There’s Just Something about that Name”

Gospel: John 14:1–6

Apostles Creed

I believe in God, the Father Almighty, Maker of heaven and earth.

And in Jesus Christ, His only Son, our Lord. Who was conceived by the Holy Spirit born of the virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried. He descended into hell. The third day He rose again from the dead. He ascended into heaven and sits at the right hand of God the Father Almighty. From thence He will come to judge the living and the dead.

I believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy Christian Church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and the life everlasting. Amen

Hymn: “Amazing Grace”

Amazing grace, how sweet the sound, That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost but now am found, Was blind, but now I see.

The Lord has promised good to me. His word my hope secures.
He will my shield and portion be, As long as life endures.

Through many dangers, toils and snares I have already come;
His grace has brought me safe thus far His grace will lead me home.

Yes, when this flesh and heart shall fail, And mortal life shall cease,
I shall possess within the veil, A life of joy and peace.

When we’ve been here ten thousand years Bright shining as the sun.
We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise Than when we’ve first begun.

Sermon: “Sing to the Lord a New Song” Psalm 96:1-2

Sing to the LORD a new song; sing to the LORD, all the earth.
Sing to the LORD, praise his name; proclaim his salvation day after day.

(And we sang a cappella: “How Great Thou Art!” and “What a Friend”)

Prayers

P: Let us pray to the Lord, our God and Father, who raised Jesus Christ from the dead.
After each portion of the prayers:

P: Lord in Your mercy.
C: hear our prayer.

Lord’s Prayer

P: Taught by our Lord and trusting in His promises, we are bold to pray
C: Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be Thy Name, Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done, on earth, as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil. For Thine is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever and ever. Amen.

Nunc Dimittis (“Now Depart” — Song of Simeon)

P: Jesus said to Martha, “I am the resurrection and the life. Whoever believes in me, though he die, yet shall he live, and everyone who lives and believes in me shall never die.” (John 11:25–26)
C: Lord, now you are letting your servant depart in peace, according to your word; for my eyes have seen your salvation that you have prepared in the presence of all peoples, a light for revelation to the Gentiles, and for glory to your people Israel.” (Luke 2:29–32)

Concluding Prayer

P: The Lord be with you.
C: And also with you.
P: Let us pray… through Jesus Christ, your Son, our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God now and forever.
C: Amen

Benediction

Hymn: “I Know That My Redeemer Lives”

I know that my Redeemer lives;  What comfort this sweet sentence gives!
He lives, He lives, who once was dead; He lives my everliving head.

He lives triumphant from the grave; He lives eternally to save;
He lives all glorious in the sky; He lives exalted there on high.

He lives to silence all my fears; He lives to wipe away my tears;
He lives to calm my troubled heart; He lives all blessings to impart.

He lives, my kind, wise, heav’nly friend; He lives and loves me to the end;
He lives, and while He lives, I’ll sing; He lives, my Prophet, Priest, and King.

He lives, all glory to His name! He lives, my Jesus, still the same;
Oh, the sweet joy this sentence gives: I know that my Redeemer lives!

Unless otherwise noted, all Scripture quotations are from NIV, used by permission.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Shepherd of the Mountains Lutheran Church

Rev. Richard P. Shields, Pastor
Rev. David Swarthout, Pastor Emeritus
Keyboard: Val Katkov
Soloist: Gail Saefke

About exegete77

disciple of Jesus Christ, husband, father, grandfather, great-grandfather, teacher, and theologian
This entry was posted in Tentatio, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sing to the LORD a new song Psalm 96:1-2

  1. Jenni says:

    I’m sure it was very uplifting. It sure was for me. Thanks for sharing this.
    Jenni

  2. Carol Reiner says:

    What a lasting impact that Gayle Diani left on so many of our lives. She was a good friend who made a positive impact on the corner of the world in which she lived. I take comfort in the memories and in knowing that Gayle is pain-free and happy. Hugs to the remaining family members.
    Carol Reiner

  3. June says:

    I am sorry for your loss April, she lives a better life in a better place now. Be happy not sad keep the memories safe and one day you will be re united.
    Your friend in Jesus…..

Comments are closed.