Is Jesus Your Lord?

Well, we had nine people, that’s four more than I expected! We sang hymns, read Scripture (patterned after the Vespers service), and I preached for 2½ hours!

(well, not really, I just wanted to see if you were reading). It was refreshing for all of us; a time to enjoy worshiping together our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

I noted that in Luther’s explanation of the second article of the creed he writes:

I believe that Jesus Christ, true God, begotten of the Father from eternity, and also true Man, born of the Virgin Mary, is my Lord

As Lutherans we like to talk about the Savior Jesus, but not so much about Jesus is my Lord. But we cannot separate the two. The one who suffered and died and rose again as Savior is also the one who ascended into heaven and is reigning at the right hand of God the Father. He has all authority (Matthew 28:18)

So0, is Jesus your Lord?

About exegete77

disciple of Jesus Christ, husband, father, grandfather, great-grandfather, teacher, and theologian
This entry was posted in Meditatio, Oratio, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Is Jesus Your Lord?

  1. Jenni says:

    Jesus is my Lord.

  2. Emily Cook says:

    🙂 My eyes really bugged out at the 2 1/2 hour part!

  3. Tracy Schroeder says:

    Yes! Jesus is my Lord!!!!

  4. Sorry to say it was my first Ascension service, but happy to say it was my first Ascension service,
    Yes, Jesus is my Lord!

  5. exegete77 says:

    Amen, Jenni, Tracy, and Chuck!

    With no musicians, we sang a cappella… beautiful singing.

    Yes, Emily I figured you might catch that! I’ll save the 2½ hour sermon until you are able to enjoy the full impact, with your six kids in tow. LOL

Comments are closed.