“Take my life”

…is the sermon hymn for the funeral today. And it is the sermon topic as well. It fits very well with her life of love and service to many people.

But the reason for that dedication is that Jesus came to her in Baptism and said, “Take My life.” By that swap, His life for hers, in Baptism she died, and rose to new life. She gave up her self-righteousness and received Christ’s righteousness.

As Paul wrote “I have been crucified with Christ, and it is no longer I who lives, but Christ lives in me. And the life I live now I live by faith in the Son of God who loved me and delivered Himself up for me.” (Galatians 2:20).

Today, Jesus extends to us his offer, “Take My life.” And the great news about that is that when we die, then we return the words to Him and say “Take my life.” And He does—forever!

For the Lord Himself will descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel and with the trumpet of God, and the dead in Christ will rise first. Then we who are alive and remain will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air, and so we shall always be with the Lord.  Therefore comfort one another with these words. (1 Thessalonians 4:16-18)

Yes, Lord, take my life…now and forever!

About exegete77

disciple of Jesus Christ, husband, father, grandfather, great-grandfather, teacher, and theologian
This entry was posted in Discipleship, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Take my life”

  1. Emily Cook says:

    Thank you for this Rich. I love the hymn “take my life,” but I do tend to focus on MY commitment to HIM when I hear it- thank you for the all important reminder that my commitment is nothing, is impossible, without first His commitment to me.

    Take my life- take my body and my blood… He is a generous God.

  2. Emily Cook says:

    PS this might be a good devotion for Portals of prayer?!

Comments are closed.